Gramma Maggie 420

Since this journey has begun, it is time to create a space for just the journey.Looking UP at the lighthouse-001 This is it. This is the blog in which I will be documenting my journey to me, via the world. This is a bit about who I am and what I am doing:


That is the question I am attempting to answer for myself during a journey around the country.

Biting my lipDuring this journey, I am hoping to visit anyone who is open to it. This can include my relatives, both those I know well and those whom I have yet to meet.
It also will include my friends from Facebook.

I am also looking forward to visiting many of my friends who have moved to distant locals.
I know this much about myself:
I have the sense of humor of a 14 year old boy, and no “filter” between my brain and my mouth.
I am the mother of 3 children. I became a mom at the age of 17. I was married for 21 years to the father of my daughter, who is now 20. My sons are 26 and 24.

I am the grandma of 3 (identical twin girls who are 2 & a grandson who was born 10 days before my 40th birthday who is now 4).

I am a biker. I grabbed a hold of the throttle after riding bitch for over 30 years with anyone who would let me. Me on 02 HD Low Rider
I am  a writer and a survivor.

I am retired disabled with a “hidden” disability.
I am also a medical cannabis advocate.

My only source of pain control at this time is cannabis. Just for reference, my pain level upon waking ranges from about a 5.8 (on GREAT days) to 8.5 on bad days. It averages 7.4 daily.
95536-img_20121117_230619-1My disability: I experience chronic nerve pain in my pubic area, chronic pelvic pain &  a bladder condition called “interstitial cystitis”. I was prescribed Fentanyl (100x stronger than morphine) for over 7 years. I was informed by my physicians that I would never be able to completely cease using that particular pain medication or one similar.

Then,  I stopped it cold turkey in August of 2009.
In December of 2009, I was confronted by my own body failing Look into my eyes, what do you see-001me.. I began to loose my upper left peripheral vision. Then, it worsened in Spring of 2010, when my doctors informed me that I couldn’t have the tests that were my only hope of discovering the root of this illness taking my vision and the sensation on my left side, due to the implant that I have to control the interstitial cystitis.
Again my crap his supermanWhen I learned that I was loosing my vision, I decided that I needed to see more than just Washington State, where I have spent most of my life. I have never visited most of the states in my own country. I have visited very little of Canada (a few day visits to Vancouver and Victoria, BC) and I have been in Mexico once as a teen for a few hours.
Last spring, after 21 years of marriage, I left my husband with only the clothes on my back.
God has been attempting to make me aware that material things shouldn’t matter to me.
The train
In 2005, the house I raised my children in was foreclosed upon while I was awaiting Social Security’s decision on my disability.
Shortly thereafter, my husband failed to make the payment on our storage unit, and we lost all of our material memories save for a few photos we had been able to keep with us.
When I left my husband, I left with only the possessions that he chose to eventually allow me to have.
Harley Low RiderHe has the car, the house, the pet, the remaining bike, and all the items that he decided that I didn’t want.
I now have nothing to tie me down. Homeless by choice.
My children are grown, my grandchildren have excellent parents and are in great hands.
All I do is feel pain in my hometown. I have seen little except my home state save for a few short trips to neighboring areas.
Before I loose my vision; I want to see everything I can. I want to learn about other people in other areas, I want to see this beautiful world. I want to hear music from all around the world, beginning with different regions of the US.Indiana Covered Bridge
I am doing this on the smallest of budgets. As I said, I have nothing. I do have a warm sleeping bag, some clothing and personal objects I require to live, and continue to document this journey around the world, as well as the journey into myself.
If I was to be honest about what this is, it is a journey to me, through exploring the world around me.
Perhaps “Herriot the Spy” grows up and looks at the world around here, not just the people. I will be writing my life story, as well as a book about the people that I meet through the game “Pot Farm” on FaceBook.
I will be logging my travels as I visit my Facebook friends Grand Mesa, Coloradoaround the country, then hopefully around the world.
I welcome any and all feedback. Even though I may go through days and perhaps weeks, without posting much; please be patient, I may not have internet access or limited access for extended periods of time. I will continue to write even if it may have to be transcribed when I am able to return.
I am very much a hippie and I am trusting God and my inner intuition to guide me. I am only following my “gut instincts” to lead me where I need to go.
The current tentative plans are as such:
  • My birthday (October 19th), will be spent in the LA, California area with friends I most literally haven’t seen in 30 years. I hope also to meet and visit any “Pot Farm” friends in the southern Cali area during that time frame.
  • After I leave the LA area, I am being pulled towards the Bay area, as much of my family history is based in that are.
  • Possibly after the Bay area: Eastern Oregon, Spokane, WA…. Then?????
  • On Christmas:  I will be in Utah with my wonderful friend
  • January: I hope to be in Florida visiting friends whoIn Key West at mile 0, where the Florida highway b have relocated to that area, as well as new friends I have acquired through Facebook.
ALL of these plans are completely fluid, tentative and conditional upon only my gut feelings.
At any point, I may be forced to return in order to assist my family.
For now, I am following God, my heart, my instincts… or just my crazy brain.


  1. Update:
    Saw my son, who I hadn't seen in several years; on my birthday in October. It was the rainiest day I have ever experienced in “sunny” orange county! Laugh!
    Had a small detour to UWMC for required tests, now I am heading back out on the road…looking forward to meet new friends soon!


Leave a Reply to Gramma Maggie 420 Cancel reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s